a handful of quarters

Many people don’t notice pennies on the ground anymore. It seems pennies are not worth the energy to pick up and put in your pocket. Others do not notice quarters either. I do.

When my income suddenly reduced to one fifth of what I had enjoyed, I REALLY started noticing quarters. My budget for doing my laundry was 80 quarters a month – $20. Forty of them was a handful.

One night my son and I were at the laundry mat and I sent him to change my ten dollar bill into quarters through the change machine they had hanging on the wall. He came back with the ten dollar bill still in his hand AND a handful of quarters in the other hand saying, “Mom, the machine gave me the quarters AND the ten dollars back.”

My mind had rapid fired thoughts. I wish I could say that the honest spiritual thoughts were the ones that showed up first, but that would be a lie. Thoughts of how this machine’s malfunction could make us extra money raced over the starting line in my head! I wanted to say, “Go do it again!! If it happened again it would be like winning the lottery! That’s when it happened. God blew His whistle and the racing of carnal thoughts came to a complete halt like runners that had jumped the starting line too soon. He reminded me that I will always have choices that can turn to the left or to the right – choices that would take me off the straight paths He had laid for my feet. When it came to the extra quarters my mind was beginning to take a serious left turn. I had a choice to make. Do I take something that is not mine?

I had to respond to the whistle from God’s lips. “Son,” I said,”I really want to keep these quarters, but God says ‘no’. Go give them to the manager.” Of course the manager gratfully accepted the quarters back and did not see fit to reward us of our honesty, but inside I was at peace.

The next Sunday I walked into my Sunday School class and on the desk was a small box that once held jewelry. I opened the lid and saw a small folded note inside. It said,”It has been many years since I have used the laundry mat, but I suppose they still take quarters.” I emptied the box and there I stood teary eyed with a handful of quarters.

The lady that left the box on my desk is an encourager…a Barnabas. She writes letters and sends cards out weekly. She makes phone calls and visits. On that Sunday morning, she helped a single, financially struggling mom know that the SURE PATH in front of her feet will always be the right one…it may even be littered with pennies and quarters.

About 2b14u

I'm just a person. A person who has learned a lot of truth in the darkest days of life. The truth that glimmered, flashed and at times broke through like a day's dawn all came from the hands of a mighty God. His light makes the darkness worth it. To know my background, visit my posts titled "Jack-in-the-Box" and "Jack's Still Jumping"- Feb. 2012.
This entry was posted in depression and hope. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to a handful of quarters

  1. This is such a beautiful illustration of both the financial struggles that so many people are experiencing nowadays and the amazing faithfulness of God. I can also testify that God always lets me know that he is pleased with uncompromising positions. The reward for trusting in Him and the truth of His Word: “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” — Matthew 6:33-34

    Like

  2. Oh my! I think a little itty bitty tear just fell! To God be the glory. Shalom

    Like

  3. If you’re Canadian, loonies and toonies would be good too!! lol

    Like

  4. Antoinette says:

    This is lovely, thank you.

    Like

  5. Mel says:

    “Wow” is all I can think.

    “But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”
    Philippians 4:19

    🙂

    Like

  6. Hey I have added you to my blogroll, and nominated you for the ABC award…there is a shout out on my blog!

    Like

  7. iamnotshe says:

    https://iamnotshe.wordpress.com/2012/03/02/are-you-shining-on-me/ You’ve been nominated for the Sunshine Award. I hope i’m not repeating myself … I see our Buck is a fan of yours …. 🙂

    Like

  8. Judy Walters says:

    Amazing how God can take the little things in life like quarters and turn them into a profound statement of His faithfulness. Love this story, Margie!

    Like

  9. So amazing. God is indeed in the details.

    Loved that you could hear His voice.

    Like

    • 2b14u says:

      Thanks for reading my post about the quarters. Your last sentence on the comment made me think…”How did I hear His voice”? I had read Proverbs so much during those first two months after my husband left. The verse that stood out to me during that time was the verse about straight paths and not veering to the left or right. I guess the Holy Spirit did what God promised He would do…”When the Spirit of truth comes, He will guide you into all truth.”

      Like

  10. Amy says:

    I have had many moments where I would gain financially to keep my mouth shut, but my heart and our God wanted better for me. He has always provided.

    Like

Your thoughts?

