safe walking

While walking Wally yesterday, I noticed his leash.  It is one of those fancy ones that can lock him close to me or allow him to explore further away from me while I still maintain a bit of control.  Of course the Pit strength that is bound up in his 79 pounds could at any moment surge and clear the leash from my hands, leaving me on the ground.  I know because it has happened before. (ouch)

What did I observe in our leash walk that helps me in life?

  • The leash keeps him safe as long as he does not pull away from me using his dogish will power. (How often do I pull away from God’s lead by using my own will?)
  • He smells the droppings of other dogs on the bush while I smell the roses on the bush.  (How often do I stop and take notice of the droppings of this world when I should be smelling the good things given by God?)
  • I allow him some freedom by letting the leash out.  (Do I ever thank God for letting me make choices?  Do I ever realize that free will gives me the freedom to choose Him over everything else?)
  • At times I draw him close when I think there may be danger or trouble ahead.  (Do I seek the closeness of God when I need help making decisions that will keep me out of trouble? Do I ask Him to hold me close when I want to run into trouble?)
  • I have Wally on a leash because I love him.  (Do I consider the laws God has handed down as binding or freeing because of His love for me? )
  • I am a higher being than the dog on my leash.  That is why I am the guide and not him! (Do I look to the one who is Higher than I to guide me?)
  • When he does not follow, he gets tangled in the bushes.  (Do I follow God’s lead so I will not get entangled in the world?)
  • Wally likes the leash.  He comes and easily allows me to fasten it to his collar.  He surrenders a portion of his freedom so he can take a wonderful walk.  (Do I surrender to the Spirit’s control so I can have a wonderful walk?)

In no way am I saying that God pulls on my neck like some controlling dog owner.  What I do see are the times I feel His gentle, loving tug helping me stay on straight paths as long as I will listen.  I see Him providing a guide into truth so I can choose what to follow.  I see him worthy of holding my leash.

 

About 2b14u

I'm just a person. A person who has learned a lot of truth in the darkest days of life. The truth that glimmered, flashed and at times broke through like a day's dawn all came from the hands of a mighty God. His light makes the darkness worth it. To know my background, visit my posts titled "Jack-in-the-Box" and "Jack's Still Jumping"- Feb. 2012.
This entry was posted in depression and hope and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to safe walking

  1. iamnotshe says:

    The doggies i’ve had would listen to God … me, not so much 🙂 lovely sentiment, and well written. Course, who am i do judge writing . .. xo m

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Like your analogies. Just came from a great day at C BS. The speaker was Siran Stacy who lost all of his family except one daughter to a drunken driver four years ago —- four children and wife were taken. His message was do not fit in with the world. Our study has reached John 16. Jesus was preparing the disciples for the coming of the Holy Spirit after His return to the Father. Our world is filled with trouble, but Jesus has overcome the world, leaving us His peace and His joy if we abide in HIM!!!!! WOW!!!! It was an inspirational study today!!

    Like

  3. i love the parallel! food for thought 🙂

    Like

Your thoughts?

