dark hills

Yesterday while I was walking and listening to my MP3 player, I heard a song play that I had not heard in awhile.  It was an old Southern Gospel song from my childhood titled “God Walks the Dark Hills.”  Hearing the tune took me down memory lane.  This song was always in my head as a child.  I would sing it to the top of my lungs when I was mowing the yard on the riding mower.  It disappeared for awhile as I grew up and began to relate with more contemporary tunes by the Maranatha Singers, Sandi Patti, Imperials, and the emerging Michael W. Smith.

While listening to the words of the childhood favorite, I heard phrases such as “dark hills,” “silence,” and “storm tossed life.”  When I bellowed these words out as a child I took them literally.  “Silence” simply meant no one was talking.  “Dark hills” were hills darkened from the shadows of evening and the “storm tossed life” occurred whenever wind and rain became violent.  I was satisfied and glad and at peace with the fact that God walked in those literal things, but I had no idea how deep the phrases really plunged until life taught me more.

Now these words and phrases hold different meanings.  The “silence” can be when we ache for the voice of God to be heard in our mind and heart.  The “dark hills” are the shadow lands we walk through daily as we journey in a foreign land, waiting for home.  The “storm tossed life”…need I say anything to explain that one?  The only thing that has NOT changed  since childhood is God’s ability to walk through it all.  There was no change in that fact except that it means more, it soars higher, it covers more than I knew as a child.

I am thankful that as a child these phrases were scary in their own way and yet God proved Himself faithful.  But…I am very thankful that when these words redefined themselves in adulthood, that God proved Himself faithful still.

“God walks the dark hills
To guide my footsteps
He walks everywhere
By night and by day
He walks in the silence
On down the highway
God walks the dark hills
To show me the way”

By Iris Dement

About 2b14u

I'm just a person. A person who has learned a lot of truth in the darkest days of life. The truth that glimmered, flashed and at times broke through like a day's dawn all came from the hands of a mighty God. His light makes the darkness worth it. To know my background, visit my posts titled "Jack-in-the-Box" and "Jack's Still Jumping"- Feb. 2012.
This entry was posted in depression and hope and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to dark hills

  1. Fran price says:

    Love that old song; but much more love and understand your words!! Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Pingback: dark hills | a nut's notes

  3. Anonymous says:

    This is a new song to me. I do understand its message. You will have to sing it for me, Margie.

    Like

Your thoughts?

