a sling full of scripture

I have been chewing on these thoughts for about two years now and this morning I finally swallowed them, hopefully learning from my mistakes.

We admire the story of young David and how by faith he slew a giant with a single stone. It is a story we can learn from each and every time we read it.  However, my problem is this…I like to think I am a David who can slay a giant with a single scripture that is well aimed.

Maybe you can relate.

Have you ever in anger posted a scripture verse that was covertly aimed toward another person?

Have you ever posted a verse hoping that a particular person would “get the message”?

Or, have you ever planned a family devotional or small group Bible study hoping that a certain person would be there…. that they would be hit in the forehead with the scripture and it would leave them writhing in pain?

What about this…have you ever sat in church listening to a message and said to yourself, “I hope that________ is hearing this”?

Have you, or am I the only one that has had these thoughts?

When I start filling my sling with scriptural stones, I might as well brace myself once the first stone flies toward my mark. What I have learned is that the stone has the ability to change into a boomerang…suddenly coming back toward my head and leaving me writhing in pain.

For example, most sling shots have one major scripture stone tucked inside…the stone of “Thou shalt not judge.”  Have you ever noticed how this has become a popular quote among non-Christians as well as Christians?  We sling it hastily any time we think it proper. But here is where the stone becomes a boomerang…as soon as we cast the “Thou shalt not judge” stone toward a another person, we ourselves have made a judgment call.  We ourselves have deemed the person we aim it towards worthy of being hit.  We judged them and convinced ourselves that we were being spiritual in sending it their way.

That verse is well used, memorized, but rarely studied in depth. If you study it you must also study the words of Paul in 1 Corinthians as he cautioned the church not to judge non-Christians, but to judge well within the church.

The Word of God is powerful.  It is mighty.  The armor of God in Ephesians 6 does list the Word as a weapon.  It is referred to as a sword….but whose sword?  Notice in Ephesians 6 it is the Sword of the Spirit.  HIS sword.  HE welds it and places it where it needs to go.  In Hebrews 4 the Word is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart….something we can NEVER do.  I remind myself over and over that I can not do the work of the Spirit of God…only He can.

If I use scriptures as stones to slay anyone who upsets me, then I am not correctly handling the Word of God.  If I incorrectly handle the Word, then I am incorrectly handing a weapon. A weapon that usually comes back and bangs me on the head.

So, before I post a scripture or saying I will ask myself…do I have a target in mind?  Is it aimed toward someone to make a point?  If I do have a target in sight, I should quickly turn around, look in a mirror and let it fly ….for my giant at that moment in time is usually me, myself and I.

About 2b14u

I'm just a person. A person who has learned a lot of truth in the darkest days of life. The truth that glimmered, flashed and at times broke through like a day's dawn all came from the hands of a mighty God. His light makes the darkness worth it. To know my background, visit my posts titled "Jack-in-the-Box" and "Jack's Still Jumping"- Feb. 2012.
This entry was posted in depression and hope. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a sling full of scripture

  1. I too became aware of the subtle judging that I did….I think when we read scripture and believe we are ‘enlightened’ that we do tend to use that scripture as a weapon… instead as you say ‘it being the weapon only of the Holy Spirit’. When I realized this and not only me doing it… but justifying it to others I knew I was wrong… The Bible may say that ‘this or that’ is not right to do… BUT it is only God who can judge if/when someone is and ..He has the advantage of seeing their heart also. I also find that sometimes people don’t judge outwardly but do so with their silence or a look….. In any case it certainly is an issue for Christians to be aware of ….. Diane

    Like

  2. 2b14u says:

    Quoting scripture and teaching scripture has its place. There are times we need to be bold in using it. But if I use it with the wrong attitude – in order to attack and not gently persuade, then I become guilty of slinging it toward a person.

    Like

Your thoughts?

