write in votes

For about a week I had decided that I would write in a third candidate on my election ballot. The advantage of a write in is that it shows your disproval of the two main candidates. In other words, many see it as a form of protest. This “protest” vote is voicing protest over the 2016 election, but it falls short in being a vote for the next four years or the next 40+ years in regards to the Supreme Court. To put Mickey Mouse or Mr.? or Mrs.? on a ballot makes the ballot fall short of possible change. (Notice the word “possible.”) The write in vote becomes a silent, impotent voice after the news coverage mentions it on the third page after the election. So, if I do not feel I can write in a vote, I have to base my vote on something. I have decided I will base my vote on the life of the unborn child. No matter where we are historically, nothing is so horrid as abortion at any stage. The nation cries over black lives, gay lives, blue lives, eagle egg lives and ignores the most innocent of them all…the unborn human. If a human in its most innocent form does not matter, then it leads us down slippery slopes. I will not cast a silent ballot. I will vote for the party that …may…help stop it or at least curb it. That is the issue in which I have to take a stand with my vote.

About 2b14u

I'm just a person. A person who has learned a lot of truth in the darkest days of life. The truth that glimmered, flashed and at times broke through like a day's dawn all came from the hands of a mighty God. His light makes the darkness worth it. To know my background, visit my posts titled "Jack-in-the-Box" and "Jack's Still Jumping"- Feb. 2012.
This entry was posted in depression and hope. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to write in votes

  1. As a foreigner and onlooker, I feel sad that the American voter’s choice seems to have come to, “Vote for the candidate you hate least.”
    I understand the nominating process for choosing candidates who will run for President is a long, tedious one, so this situation hasn’t come up suddenly. I don’t understand why someone likeable couldn’t have been found. Or is it not possible in American politics anymore? Or have politics/the media become so vicious even the most likeable person in the US would be thoroughly blackened and torn to pieces?

    Like

    • 2b14u says:

      Through out history there have been deep divisions in U.S. politics and usually it will be righted at some point. The election of 1800 was very divisive as the one in which Lincoln was elected. Usually even with bad choices it will right itself at some point through the voice of the people. We have a great process, it just goes weird at some point but Republics usually weaken as division naturally occurs and the people do not have the morals to keep it going. Not a great answer to your question, but history shows the downward spiral governments face. Just wishing to slow the spiral.

      Like

  2. Victoria says:

    Now, almost a week after being elected, Trump is already changing his mind on this. I read yesterday that he is giving the choice to the states…each individual state will decide how they feel about abortion and will set up their own laws accordingly. So, unfortunately, a vote based solely on this was up for grabs….Trump is already changing his mind on several other things as well…I hope the changes he makes will be good for our country, but at this point I’m very disheartened, sad and a little afraid. I definitely know that God is in charge – but I do fear for our country in many ways. When the children of Israel chose the wrong leader, even though God was in charge still, they went through a lot of suffering because of it.

    Like

    • 2b14u says:

      I hate that we are already judging the presidency on him and he has not even taken office. To worry about it at this point is crossing the bridge before there is one. What the stance will be will be decided upon the moment it is more than talk. By the way, states usually lean more conservative than their representatives in Federal government.

      Like

Your thoughts?

