a note about tomato plants

Someone gave me three tomato plants and I planted them in garden soil provided by Miracle Grow.  All three are four feet tall, but each has its own story.  One plant produced ONE large tomato right from the “get go.”  (That is Tennessean for “from the start.”)  One is finally producing several small tomatoes. One is ONLY producing leaves.

As I stood there watering them with city water that I pay for as it leaves the hose, I began to think, “Why should I water the two plants that are NOT producing fruit?”  I have cared for them, spent money on their survival and in 18 big bites into a sandwich all my efforts raced across my taste buds.  Now these two beautiful plants stand proudly with no promising flowers or evidence of any future fruit and I pay to water them.  I hate to just let them die because they failed to perform.  It would be a slow wither.  Maybe I will lop them off at the roots and bury them under the branches I have laying beside the road so I won’t have to watch their demise.

John 15:8 says that when we bear fruit it testifies to two things – it brings the Father glory and it shows that we are His followers.  The fruit becomes the evidence that we walk with Him…are attached to Him.

“This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.”

Where does that Truth leave me as I stand there watering my fruitless plants?  It makes me wonder how many times God has showered blessing upon me and I have remained fruitless.  It makes me examine my life for the fruit of the Spirit.  It makes me look to see if people have found Him or been drawn to Him because of my witness.  It makes me ask myself if I have brought HIM glory in any way.

God gives us lessons everywhere.  He sent us a great Teacher.  Thank you, Lord, for plants that made me think about my life with You.

 

About 2b14u

I'm just a person. A person who has learned a lot of truth in the darkest days of life. The truth that glimmered, flashed and at times broke through like a day's dawn all came from the hands of a mighty God. His light makes the darkness worth it. To know my background, visit my posts titled "Jack-in-the-Box" and "Jack's Still Jumping"- Feb. 2012.
This entry was posted in depression and hope. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a note about tomato plants

  1. Fran says:

    Very good thoughts Margie! The past several weeks I have been thinking about my witness before my friends and people I come into contact with! Thank you for your words!

    Like

  2. My question is: Have you acted yet?
    Maybe you might try “meeting them where they are.”
    Maybe there is something in their life that is preventing them from bearing fruit.
    Maybe there is something lacking in them that when provided you will “see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it. 11 I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not drop their fruit before it is ripe,”
    I’m not sure if we are talking tomatoes or people here…
    Sometimes, if we are talking tomatoes, a little Epsom salt will stimulate fruit production… don’t be too quick to “lop them off at the roots and bury them under the branches”
    (That sometimes applies to tomatoes and people…)

    Be Blessed,
    pastorfloydpahrump
    (formally Patandfloyd.wordpress.com)

    Like

    • 2b14u says:

      Good thoughts. I actually have those plants and I will try Epson salt. I was thinking of my own lack of spiritual fruit at times. Believe me, I will treat the plants, myself and others with Grace in finding a remedy for fruitlessness! I see your new blog name!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent post. Thank you!

    Like

Your thoughts?

